My Journey to the Stage ‘aka’ Scared Sh**less – Entry 1

Standard

Jan. 22 – So this isn’t the first day of my journey. Far from it. This journey officially started last July, when I finally stopped dreaming of the day when I would gain more muscle and actually formed a plan of action towards it. With some gentle encouragement from my hubby, Shawn, I toyed with the idea of doing my first competition. It sounded fun, and scary!, but it all depended on how my progress would go. Everyone’s goals are different and are respected; however, my goal was not simply to get on the stage just to say I did it. I wanted to walk onto the stage feeling competitive, not just for the feeling of “yay, I’m so happy that I walked on a stage. In a bikini. In front of huge crowd of people.” Okay, now I want to throw up and rethink this whole thing! My point is that if I wanted to simply walk on a stage in front of a group of people, half naked, in heels and subject myself to judgment and possibly falling on my face, I would just pay $20 and join an improve class where I could be fully clothed (bonus!) and subject myself to ridicule in much the same way. This isn’t just a goal of getting on a stage. It’s a goal to build the muscle mass that I have dreamed about for a long time, work my a** off and push myself to be the best I can be and do something I had never dreamed possible. And I HAVE been working my a** off since July, pushing myself at the gym and, with a lot of help from my cute hubby, coming up with a great meal plan to help me reach my goals. I’m slowly gaining more muscle and couldn’t be happier with the results so far. I want more!

So, it’s just over 21 weeks from the show (June 20th) and I’ve been working on losing some body fat. Soon, I’ll start a heavier style of training and really kick it to the next level. Can’t wait!! Posing is really hard, harder than it looks from the audience’s point of view! I’m excited and scared sh**less to get on that stage but I’m definitely proud of the hard work and results so far. Bring it on!!!

Leave a Reply

